Regret me not, will you? (Part 2)

Part II

I protected her. I know I always had this superhero complex. Like, I always wanted to save people. The pitier, the more I love them. I think I just wanted them to be dependent on me. To never leave my side. Both in friendship or relationship. It’s then getting worse and worse from there. She’s getting a lot of hate. And everyone started talking. They also said they saw them holding hands, sleeping in each other lap, kissing, and she was caught red-handed at his house by one of my friends. Even the nun (Since it was a catholic hospital) started asking me about their affair.

One day, I asked her about all of these rumors.

I said to her, it’s okay if you like him, if you have an affair with him, I can totally understand. But can you be honest with me? So I know how should I react. Don’t worry I’ll understand, and I’ll stay by your side.

And being a pathological liar, she told me that they are stupid gossips. That she never ever will do that with a married man. Since it’s a sin. And of course…. I believed her. Again.

So I defended her in front of all the pastors and the nuns who asked me about their affairs. I said I know those rumors can’t be true. And she was innocent. WOW. I said, She was professional, and kind, and the other doctors were just jealous of her. WTF Jen.

So as time went by, everyone grew tired of this drama. I stayed by her side. Along with 2 other friends. So it was just 4 of us against everyone.

I reasoned with myself. I said, even if she was lying to me, it’s not my fault, it showed who she is and I’m just a victim here, But if everybody was wrong, and she was indeed innocent, and I didn’t take her side, I will regret my choice forever. I will forever feel extreme guilt towards her, by leaving her alone.

Can the past jen be more dramatic? Seriously, I want to slap the shit out of past me so bad.

So long story short, one year passed by.

I survived that hell.

I even made a post dedicated to our one-year friendship on Instagram.

damn.

Leave a comment